a so it a go

Every day is a blog day. Every day is a happy day. Every day is ‘all fools’ day. Every day is only what you want it to be. Some of us know how to get it to where we want it, but some of us don’t. Out of the starting blocks we are all good to go, but there are some of us who really do not want it so.  We will always have the Ostriches, and there is nothing we can do about that, for it is their right, and some people have a difficulty just accepting that plain simple fact. If a man with you, he with you, and if  a man is not with you, he not with you. Plain and simple. End of story. But some people can’t leave it there, they like it complicated and have to play in mud. God is never the problem, but maybe the evangelists are. Them who feel they have the right to speak and decide for everyone, and nobody elected them as God. I am not getting into any religion or politics or any such chatter, but some people feel that they are the chosen and the gift to SK, and we need to watch them closely, or we may get misled. It is not the first time, neither will it be the last. It is just something not quite so unique to SKN.

Friday 1st of April was just another day for me.  Nice and quiet, how I like it on SKN.  I don’t hound down the news like some friends of mine. They listening and watching three and four news channels the same time. News is stale after it done break. If it breaking, like a tsunami, that is cool, maybe you could feel the front line excitement. If you not there you missed it. Of course the replay next day is just as exciting for some, and I am happy for them. Some folks are still living in the history of last month’s tsunami. The victims are moving on, so get your thoughts in gear and move on with them, why try to hold them back with your thoughts. Oh? So you did not know that actions follow thoughts? “As a man think so is he”. If you can’t help physically, help spiritually, with positive thoughts, and not pity either.

While I am on April 1st, I see that Easter Monday fell on April 1 st in 1991 and 2002, and is predicted for 2013,  2024. I guess the mathematicians and physicists are familiar with the formulas that go beyond my little calculator and I am not loosing any sleep over that. I am hoping that in the future folks forget about this all fools day celebration, because at best I feel that it is already with us every day. I know some of us are not content to just read between the lines, but please do not say what I did not. My view is my view, but I am not greedy and anyone is free to share in it. Maybe in time to come April 1st may be elevated to a status like May 1st … by then some may be bawling “heaven help us” … we only wanted the day to party.

Party is a big thing in SK. To me tourism is like a one big party. I have not studied any subject of Tourism and I am not knocking it, but I get the impression that we are trying to make SK into the liming center of the Caribbean. I don’t have a problem with that. Anyone coming to lime will walk with a couple bucks, and we have the greatest of services here, to fill every need. Capiche?  Every need. Whatever you need, you can get in SK, you only have to ask … of the right people. In a small place like ours that pride itself on its computer connectivity and improved literacy, information is available, even online. Recently I was explaining to someone how connected we are that I did not know that “culture” was available at bars in Frigate Bay until I read it on line … in a visitor review on SK.

I don’t hear people talking about legalizing the ‘culture” anymore, probably because it is more readily available. My view is keep it on the books and keep the police in the hills looking for plants, not for culture. The experts agree that the “culture” is good stuff, all that is needed is a coffee filter, and it is better to go. A rum friend of mine suggested that if I need the legal equivalent of our “culture” I should try the CSR brand. Well if he say so, but I am not into rum, and I am not into black cake like once ago. I had my days of that, but it very hard to pass up. With all the modernization and technology we can’t let the “culture” die. This you could find interesting.

Maybe we set out to kill things in SK, rather then let them die, naturally.  In my blog a fortnight ago,  I notice that it seems to me that we are becoming a ‘tail wagging’ nation. We are allowing the ‘tail to wag the dog’. Employees are deciding what they are doing on their employers job, and the employers just have to take it, like it or not,  and suck it up. Maybe the people in charge don’t see or maybe just don’t care, and then it is not my business, and I am out of my place to notice,  because my VAT dollars are not what they carry home and to the supermarket. This may be an isolated case, but then maybe not. If it is not, then we may have trouble down the road.

My April 1st was quiet and the tiny tot masquerade stole the tourist show at Port Zante today. Taking the photos [from a distance] made my day. The visitors made no bones that were not interested in the performance of the biggies. My guess is that the visitors have never seen a performer that young/small/tiny/petite before [and I would like to assume still in pampers]  and thumb sucking. She stole their hearts and it is only because they could not kidnap her [and I am sure the thought crossed their minds] so she is still with us to perform next week. The Facebook photos are in my photo album for April 1st 2011 and accessible to all Facebook friends.

Then the afternoon came alive and Fort Street and Cayon Street, the main streets of the City were traffic jammed because of a motorcade. I understand that the Washington Archibald High School commonly referred to as “washie”, won the inter school sports meet. I guess that the results and information it all over the media. I had planned to visit the ‘stadium’ and take some photos during the meet, but I had to get the priorities right, and missed hat great opportunity. I also missed the front/leading section of this motorcade but captured a part of it near the end.

There is always a story behind the news, and if the fish come out of the sea tell you something about the lobster in there, you have to take it from them, with or without a pinch of salt. I am not into athletics, but like to see the youths putting it on their front burner as it can be a  critical component in their overall development. The coaches, teachers and community have a serious role to play in the development of the young people.  I am of the view that the attention to personal development transcends politics, I would not venture to say religion as that component, to my mind, should already be integrated into the mix.

We know that Sandy Point folks are proud people. I understand that they are repeated winners of the inter school meet. The fish said that Sandy Point is winning back the trophy next year. The fish also said that the Sandy Point athletes were told not to be competitive  so that Sandy Point could loose, because they did not want to win with the new school name. You will recall that the Sandy Point high school was recently renamed, the Charles Mills High School, and some seemingly ‘politically oriented’ folks have a problem with that, to the extent that they would deprive Sandy Point and its young people the glory of this championship, just so that the new school name would no be in bright lights. So it is like renaming the school make all the star athletes suddenly have two left foot? I must be missing something.

If the fish is correct and it is not the sour grapes, we may be seeing first hand, and upfront, the kind of games that some people are prepared to play with the lives and future of our present and future generations. If this generation is subscribing to that ideology then we see what our politics for 2015 is shaping up to be. As much as some of us don’t like it we have no choices but to live with it. It come down to winning an election at all cost, and for some it may mean that they will sacrifice their countrymen and their future just so they can step up, out, over and above, in their own personal and best interest. This is the reality, and we hoped that it would never have come to that. And don’t even try to bring our national anthem into this. We may need a new national anthem that better mirrors the new attitude. Maybe we should begin to think now about reverse engineering our National Anthem.

[To be continued]

This entry was posted in News and politics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to a so it a go

  1. Remarkable! Its really awesome article, I have got much clear idea about from this
    piece of writing.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.